Melbourne | 28
Start Date: ASAP

About Me

Updated 19 Jul 2012

Looking for: Full-time, Casual Babysitting

my name is Karen Mackey. I am Irish and have just arrived in Melbourne this week. I am qualified as an Early Years Practitioner. I studied Early Childhood Studies in University College Cork and I thoroughly enjoyed studying the material and the work experience I was offered.The Early Childhood Studies course required me to do two, ten week periods of work placement. The first place was a special needs school and the second was a high/scope pre-school which I thoroughly enjoyed. The Early Childhood Studies course enabled us to complete a portfolio during both periods of work placement. Both portfolios ranged from 2,000 to 10,000 words. These portfolios required me to do lesson plans, observations and reflections. As a result I was commended on my planning, time keeping and organisation skills. All this said I am a very flexible person, and can adapt to any changes as they present themselves. I also work well as part of a team. I have formed strong relationships with all the colleagues I have previously worked with. I am enthusiastic, conscientious and positive in both my attitude and approach to learning. I’m energetic, motivated and determined. I enjoy a challenge and embrace change positively. I want all children to encounter a positive, well rounded education like mine. At the end of the three years I was awarded an honors degree. The Early Childhood Studies Degree sanctions me with a qualification as a level 8 Early Years Practitioner. I received my qualification in 2011 and last year I worked as a Special Needs Assistant in a Special School in Ireland. As a result, I have encountered children with a variety of conditions, ranging from emotional and behavioral problems to children with mild and severe learning difficulties I really enjoyed this work and I most certainly have a passion for working with all children of all ages. I am energetic, kind and most importantly caring. I understand that working with children involves patience, consistency and most of all a sense of kindness and care for each individual child. I also believe that each child should be treated with respect and equality in a setting. I am a very calm person. I work well under pressure and I always get a job done. I also use my own initiative when necessary. I enjoy a challenge because often the end result is very rewarding and one would feel a sense of fulfillment. I would encourage and facilitate each child to develop in a holistic manner in as much as is achievable by recognising and enabling them to grow in their own unique way. This would also include helping them to appreciate and respect different viewpoints and cultural backgrounds and view change and diversity positively. I believe I have the skills necessary to work as part of a team in your setting and I am confident I will do a great job for you. I am currently waiting for my work with children's check. I have a first aid certificate. I will look forward to hearing from you. I will send a Resume and references upon request.

28 year old female carer

Course Complete - Degree in Early Childhood Studies, Level 8 Bachelor Degree at University College Cork, Ireland

Residency status
Temporary until July 2013

Availability & Rates

  • M
  • T
  • W
  • T
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • Pay Per Hour
  • Before School
  • Day
  • After School
  • Evening
    From 6pm

Provides care for ages