Melissa

Geelong | 28
Start Date: ASAP

About Me

Updated 07 Feb 2017

Looking for: Full-time, Part-time, Casual Babysitting, Au Pair

Hi families,

I'm Mel, a 28 year old social worker. I have worked as a senior case manager in foster care and residential care, however have just been made redundant from the position. I have decided to use this as an opportunity to pursue study, and as of late Feb will be studying a health science degree part time.

Education wise I have a degree in social work and a double degree in sport and tourism management.

I am happiest around children, and have plenty of experience working with them. I spent 4 years doing after school care with children aged 4-12 whilst at uni.

I have 2 gorgeous nieces who I cared for regularly between the ages of 1 and 4 and my time with them was spent playing mermaids and billy goats, chasing them and spinning them, collecting shells, reading stories etc.

In early 2011 I was employed as a live in nanny for 3 children - 7 yr old boy and 2 foster care children - a boy 4 with developmental delays and a girl 2. I cared for them as sole carer predominantly, as their mother/carer worked 3-4 hours away regularly. I also worked as her personal assistant, undetaking duties including co-ordinating her work and personal schedule, replying to emails, filing etc.

At the beginning of 2012 I spent 4 months in Africa volunteering in a preschool, helping the children learn the alphabet, numbers, days of the wk etc. It was an amazing experience. Later that year I worked at a snow resort here in Australia, working in the ski school with 3-6 year olds and also in the creche with 3 month olds to 3 year olds. I also babysat many nights a week for families staying on the mountains, from newborns to school age children.

Since gaining my social work degree I have worked as a case manager in foster care. This means working with children who have been removed from their parents, and with their carers. The children range from newborn to 18 and have complex behaviours and diagnoses often. I was nominated for the employee of the year in my first year and was promoted at the beginning of my second year.

I am looking for a loving family that is interested in fun and adventure. I love the outdoors so am always
keen to be amongst nature, but know how to have fun indoors creating magical worlds and doing craft etc.

I am a tidy and very healthy person, and try to let my actions influence the behaviours of the children in my care. I love life and am just keen to help you and your children enjoy the joys of life :)

I am open to various forms of work, and wage is negotiable. I'm just looking for a good fit!

If you have any other questions or want to have a chat, just ask!

I look forward to hearing from you

NB: I do have a WWCC, just don't have the card on me right now to verify

Mel!

28 year old female carer

Education:
Course Complete - B Social Work at Monash University

Professional Experience
Please see profile

Other Skills
Music, sport, craft etc

Residency status
Permanent

Police Check
Available on request

Availability & Rates

  •  
  • M
  • T
  • W
  • T
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • Pay Per Hour
  • Before School
    6am-9am
  • Day
    7am-6pm
  • After School
    3pm-7pm
  • Evening
    From 6pm

Provides care for ages

Credentials

Heading

Content